Iran to play Portugal, Spain, Morocco in FIFA World Cup

Iran was drawn to face Morocco, Spain and Portugal at the group stage of the 2018 FIFA World Cup which is due to be held from June 14 to July 15 next year in Russia.

On Friday, the highly anticipated Final Draw for the 21st FIFA World Cup took place at Moscow's State Kremlin Palace concert hall where the 32 teams, which have qualified for the biggest showpiece of international football, were split into eight four-team groups.

The journey for Carlos Queiroz's men will begin on June 15 as they will take on Morocco at Saint Petersburg Stadium.

Iran will square off against European giant and 2010 World Cup winner Spain in its second Group B fixture in Kazan Arena on June 20 before playing Euro 2016 champion Portugal at Saransk’s Mordovia Arena on the final matchday of the group.

Iran was the first Asian side to book its place in next year's finals – only the second team next to Brazil – as the Asian powerhouse came through an unbeaten qualifying campaign including a run of 12 consecutive clean sheets. 

News Code 330248


Your Comment

You are replying to: .